Inside My Head

the literary rantings of Angie Frissore

“It seems to me we can never give up longing and wishing while we are alive. There are certain things we feel to be beautiful and good, and we must hunger for them.” – George Eliot

I tend to get excited about things.  People caution me, tell me that I’m rushing into situations blindly…it’s become a crime for me to have any excitement whatsoever towards any situation, unless that situation has already been played out before me, apparently.

But what’s not understood (not misunderstood, but completely beyond the comprehension of some) is what drives the excitement.

The excitement builds whenever a new stimulus is factored in.  Any change in the status quo opens up a floodgate of creativity – of, ‘how can I use this?’ – that allows me to veer down a new course, one which I may not have bothered to venture down otherwise.

A random phone call, or email, a compliment…a flirtatious smile – these are the matches that spark up fires in my mind and fuel the imagination and this – this is excitement! I will take this moment and mash it up, and overexamine it (if I choose), pick it apart and mold it all back together again into something beautiful…

And I cannot help but get excited.

December 22, 2008 - Posted by | Randomness

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

