Inside My Head

the literary rantings of Angie Frissore

Saturday Morning (teaser)

“Hold on,” I muttered at the sound of the knocking, still half asleep, as I stumbled out of bed and tried to find something with which to cover myself.  I threw on the closest thing I had to a house coat and peeked my head out of the bedroom door to find Tim standing outside, grinning.

“How was your night?”

“Good…I think,“ I mumbled.  “Why?”

“Well, I just spent ten minutes trying to figure out who is passed out in our kitchen sink,” Tim laughed.

“Oh, shit….that’s probably Christine.”

“That was my first assumption,” Tim said.  “Don’t get me wrong, it’s no big deal, I just had to see for myself the shape you must be in if there were people sleeping in our plumbing. I’m off to work.”

“Awesome,” I said, sarcastically. “Have a fantastic day.”

I turned around to fall back into bed and noticed a motionless lump under the covers.  Suddenly I remembered clearly the events of the prior evening.  Strange, good-looking, younger guys had come back to the apartment with me and Christine – strange in the ‘don’t talk to strangers’ sense, though that wasn’t any more reassuring.  Something about sharing an apartment with Tim, an Air Force pilot, had made us rather bold and reckless when it came to visitors.  We had a built-in bouncer.

I wasn’t sure what to do – whether it was wiser to just go back to sleep, or to relocate to another room and let StrangeMan sleep it off.  Christine’s little stranger was passed out on the couch, which put a damper on my relocation strategy.  I soon realized that I had an upper hand in the situation and decided to take a shower and get dressed, putting me in a much better position to confront wake-up time.

December 5, 2008 - Posted by | No Messages - Excerpts from the Draft | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Come and knock on our door…

    Comment by Mike | December 13, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

