Inside My Head

the literary rantings of Angie Frissore

Ghosts of Micah

My unsettled sleep was broken by the sound of my alarm clock, pulling me out of a strange dream that had left me feeling disoriented.  I couldn’t figure out why I had set the alarm for a Saturday morning.

“Because it’s not Saturday,” a familiar voice announced, somehow aware of my internal thought process.  I sat up in bed to once again find Micah’s memory sitting at my desk, watching me.  “It’s Tuesday.”

“Go away,” I muttered angrily.  “I wasn’t even thinking of you this time.”

“Please, if you weren’t, you and I both know I wouldn’t be here right now.”

I got out of bed and brushed by him in a hurry, escaping into the bathroom to take a shower.  Perhaps a shower was all I needed to clear away the morning’s strange vibe.  I stood under the hot water, trying to focus on the day I had ahead of me.  There wasn’t much, save for perhaps a training, and that spelled trouble.  On the rare occasions I had downtime at the office, my mind would generally wander.  A wandering mind was not a good thing, as it usually resulted in being followed all day by the eerie pseudo-ghost-internal-Micah.

I stepped out of the shower and nearly fell and cracked my skull open at the shock of seeing internal-Micah sitting in the bathroom with me.  He sat, perched on the edge of the vanity, staring at me with that same old all-knowing smirk on his face.

“I broke up with you months ago,” I reasoned.  “I have no reason to be thinking about you like this.”

“Exactly,” he said.  “So why are you?”

“Displacement.”

“Oh yeah? So, what…I’m like a favorite comfy, dirty, old scar on your soul that you think about whenever someone hurts you?” he asked.

“Yeah,” I said, suddenly making the realization.  “That’s exactly what you are…only…”

“Only what?” he prodded, knowing where I was going with my reasoning.

“Only you didn’t hurt me.”

“Exactly,” he said.  “So can I go now? Are we done here?”

“I think we are,” I said, distracted.

October 13, 2008 - Posted by | No Messages - Excerpts from the Draft | , ,

1 Comment »

  1. Love the ghost thing, Ang. It works.

    Comment by Mike | October 23, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

