Inside My Head

the literary rantings of Angie Frissore

“Miles to go before I sleep…” (Continuation)

I ran to the kitchen window as the smell of diesel fumes filled my apartment, confirming Chris’s morning departure as I saw his would-be monster truck disappear down the street.  With one quick check in the bathroom mirror, I grabbed my sweatshirt, ran down the stairs, and knocked on the Tenant’s door.

“What took you so long?” he asked with a grin as he opened the door.  Before I could make my way into his apartment, Roger pushed his way towards me and jumped up, placing one large paw strategically on my chest and almost ripping off my somewhat skimpy tank top.

“Gooooooooood dog Roger,” Aidan laughed.  “I swear I didn’t train him to do that.”

“Right,” I said slyly.  “At least it’s more attention than I got last night.”

“Oh really?”

We made our way into the living room and I settled on the couch, with Aidan’s two dogs on either side of me.  As Aidan rolled a joint, I began to complain about my uneventful date with The Supervisor the night before.

“I just don’t get it,” I muttered, mainly to myself.  “I mean, come on, I know he was hoping to get laid and all, but would you just give up altogether after striking out on date one? Without even trying?”  The previous evening’s date had been the culmination of three months’ worth of flirting between myself and the mildly-hunky Italian manager that I had briefly worked with for some time after college.  Underneath all of the built up sexual tension, however, I had been left scratching my head over the pre-pubescent antics of the evening.

“Well he’s obviously an idiot,” Aidan quipped.  I looked at him quizzically. 

“Oh yeah?” I asked.  I had a sneaking suspicion that my neighborly visits were about to take an interesting turn. “How so?”

“Well, come on…” Aidan stammered.  “It’s not like you don’t know you’re hot as hell.”

Within minutes, the logical half of me watched helplessly as my impetuous side became lost in a passionate, albeit random, make-out session with the Tenant.   You can’t do this! It screamed out to me as I counted the many ways in which the situation was incredibly inappropriate.  Here was this man who was not only well within the circle of Micah’s friends, but who had also been spotted on several occasions bringing his apparent girlfriend over.  I placed a firm hand on his chest and interrupted our horny-teenager-like-romp.

“Ok, so hold on,” I said breathlessly.  “What about that girl who’s always here?”

“Megan? Don’t worry about her.  She doesn’t need to know.”  Surprisingly, his arrogant confidence in the sitaution became somewhat of a turn on for me.  This had not been a fluke, a moment of passion.  This had been planned.

“Are you serious?” I asked, slightly taken aback by his honesty.

“Yeah, I mean…we’re obviously both having issues in our own little romantic worlds, right? So who’s to say we can’t, I dunno…be there for each other?”

“What, like, routinely?”

“Well, I certainly hope so,” muttered Aidan as he leaned in closer to me.  “I mean, what are neighbors for, right?”

September 30, 2008 - Posted by | No Messages - Excerpts from the Draft | , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

