Inside My Head

the literary rantings of Angie Frissore

Challenge Me (please)

As of late I’ve been seriously lacking creative focus.  Instead of being inspired to write, I’m churning out useless crap and calling that writing instead.  I think I have A.D.D., but only in my right brain.

So, I need a challenge.  Something random, silly, serious, pensive, creative…anything, something.  I’m asking you, my readers (thankyouthankyou by the way) to offer up some challenges for me.  Give me something that will hopefully keep me from writing the next Freddy Got Fingered.

That is all.

September 16, 2008 - Posted by | Uncategorized | , ,

3 Comments »

  1. Part 1
    1) Take your camera
    2) Pick 5 subjects (people you know) + yourself, so 6 subjects in total
    3) Take photos of found objects that best represent the subjects
    5)Pick the three best per subject
    6) Post here or on Flickr or both with a short explanation why

    Part 2

    Create a creative photography project for other people (me) and post the submission here on your blog

    Comment by piscespaul | September 17, 2008 | Reply

  2. that paul is a smart fella. i’m a big fan of being inspired visually.

    give yourself a cartier-bresson afternoon. find the spot. sit. observe. wait for the decisive moment (or not!)

    but challenge yourself to shoot in a variety of situations, and still keep it structured:
    *urban *suburban *rural
    *chaotic *still
    *loud *silent
    *aged *infancy
    bla bla bla

    then print them all out ~4x6ish and throw them in the air in a fit of joy. pick the one that strikes you most intensely in the moment and get your ass writing!

    best thing about having a photo inspiration folder is that you pile ’em up, throw ’em back into a stack and the next time you’re feeling blocked (or scattered) you’ve got dozens of topics staring you in the face.

    i don’t write (for fun or profit) but it certainly helps when i need to give myself a photography assignment. i have a visual inspiration folder, and a textual one. voila.

    (ps enjoying the blog)

    (pps when all else fails you could write about Les. bump.set.spike.win)

    Comment by mo' | September 17, 2008 | Reply

  3. Hey, Freddy Got Fingered was a great movie, I don’t know why people say that it sucks. I thought it was top 10 all time, seriously.

    “I got you some jewels Betty……jewels.”

    Anyway, there are some pretty good suggestions above me, but when I’m struggling I go to the emotions; What makes me mad? What makes me sad?, or many times I will write a memory of a girlfriend who cheated, or a crazy story from when I was younger, something straight out of my life.

    I would’nt call it lucky, but I have a vast amount of unfortunate stories to choose from, but I’ve learned that writing about them helps- like you mention in your newest post about depression.

    Good luck!

    Comment by Atlanticus | September 24, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

